The Return to Union – Plotinus’ Mystical Rapture

Metaphysical Reflections - Pic 1

Click on the image above to view video.

“Often have I woken up to myself out of the body and entered into myself,
outside of other things, seeing a beauty of great wonder and trusting that then
above all I belonged to the greater part, activating a best life and coming to
identity with the divine, having been seated [hidrytheis] in it, coming to that
actuality, seating myself [hidrysas] above every other intelligible object, after
that rest in the divine when I come down to reasoning from Intellect, I am at
a loss how I ever came down, and how my soul has come to be in the body
when she is what she has shown herself to be in herself.”

Plotinus, Enneads(IV, 8 [6] 1, 1–11)

Click here to view playlist of introductory videos on Neoplatonism.

JY

.

.

.

 

 

 

About Jason Youngman

I am an explorer of volition and soul, a song under a night's sky and a dream that forever yearns to be.
This entry was posted in Mysticism, Philosophy, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

